Rick Petry Wins DRMA Member of the Year Award

DRMA badge
Rick Petry

NEW YORK – Response Magazine and the DRMA – the alliance for media, technology, and commerce – congratulate Rick Petry, long-time industry leader and founder of Lake Oswego, Ore.-based Rick Petry Creative Writer, as the 2017 DRMA Member of the Year. 

“During my two decades working in the performance-based marketing world, few leaders can match Rick Petry’s track record of service and success,” says John Yarrington, publisher of Response and co-founder of the DRMA. “Rick’s tireless efforts to move this industry – and those in it – forward have been outshone only by his humbleness. Rick’s passion for this industry comes clear in his years of service to the DRMA and Response teams in a number of roles: as producer and creative mind behind our annual member video; as a member of our Education Committee; as a long-time contributor to the magazine; and – simply – as a mentor and friend. It’s clear that Rick’s service, his passion, and his personality are the keys to the strong support he received in the voting process for DRMA Member of the Year. While each nominee earned tremendous support from our voters and deserves recognition, Rick’s victory in this year’s competition could not be more well-deserved.”

Petry’s victory was announced during a brief ceremony in front of more than 350 industry insiders at the DRMA Winter Bash in New York Tuesday night. More than 800 leaders participated in the industry-wide vote that selected him ahead of five other nominees. 

By earning the Seventh Annual DRMA Member of the Year Award, Petry succeeds 2016 winner Asieya Pine of Lockard & Wechsler Direct, 2015 winner Denira Borrero of Omni Direct, 2014 winner Rob Medved of Cannella Response Television, 2013 winner Kristy Pinand of Concepts TV Productions, 2012 winner Nancy Lazkani of Icon Media Direct, and 2011 winner Curtis Kleinman of Swipe Payment Solutions. The other 2017 nominees were:

  • Abed Abusaleh, executive vice president, Havas Edge, Carlsbad, Calif.
  • Andy Donato, vice president/managing partner, Extreme Reach Direct Response, New York
  • Barbara Kerry, chairman/CEO, Script to Screen LLC, Santa Ana, Calif.
  • Janelle Kreider, vice president, client services, Mercury Media, King of Prussia, Pa.
  • Ava Seavey, queen bee, Avalanche Creative Services, New York

The Member of the Year was determined by an online vote of DRMA members. Representatives of DRMA member companies had the opportunity from Nov. 13-22 to vote for the candidate of their choice.

The Winter Bash was presented by Response, MTC Expo, the DRMA, and Viacom Media Networks. The event was sponsored by CoreMedia Systems, OpenJar Concepts, Pacific Media Technologies, Strategic Media, and Venable.